True Believer of Simplicity

29 Jun

I love simplicity. I like things that communicate to be to the point and obvious. I think that’s why a lot of my designs are clean, simple and express what they will while looking at them. One of my newest designs is a cute cake with pink frosting on a blue stand. It’s just fun to look at and I think will be fun mounted in a simple frame and hung in a kitchen.

I think this is most inspired by a friend of mine who bakes great cakes and always presents them on a nice stand. Also, who doesn’t love cake? Art doesn’t have to be complicated.

Lately some of my designs have this “cuteness” to them, which is odd for me because I’m not a cutesy type person. I think there is so much ugly-ness in the world, especially with bleakness constantly in the news, the oil spill, war, etc. Sometimes we just need something nice to look at, be it a beautiful photograph, sleeping kitten or a simple illustration that doesn’t take too much thought.

Shifting slightly, but on the same line as simplicity, I want to share a few of my favorite blogs which happen to have amazing design and be about one of my favorite subjects…food.

Everybody Likes Sandwiches. Amazing recipes, great photos and stories to accompany them. I have made several of them and have never been disappointed. Not all sandwiches either! Check it out. The lady in charge is a graphic designer and her site is awesome. Be sure to check out a few of my favorites which include the infamous Red Ale and Chocolate Cake and Meyer Lemon and Cranberry Muffins.

Honest Fare. I just discovered this blog a few weeks ago and haven’t had a chance to make anything, but have already marked several recipes. The design is stunning and the photographs look so professional. I can’t wait to jump in!

Please comment if you have any Food Blog recommendations!

Leave a Reply

