Hermit Tunes Radio Show

18 Jun

I’m back on the air at KDVS starting this Tuesday for the Summer Session. Here’s a  little background. I started at KDVS back in 2002, (almost ten years, yikes!). I was in high school, disliking most things, pulling away from most of my friends, being a jerk, and it changed my life. As I went through my stereotypical music phases, I had this feeling that there had to be better music out there. When the music on TV and corporate radio didn’t provide this, I turned to the internet where I was blown away by websites dedicated to the great era of music from the late 70s and early 80s from different areas of the (western) world devoted to punk rock. I dug deeper and discovered underground, independent music that I fell in love with. Always a fan of 60s tunes, I also found great wild rock’n’roll bands that remained under the radar during their heyday, but that had created music that still held up decades later. From there my discoveries splintered into all sorts of sounds, genres and eras.

When I stepped into the stacks at KDVS, it was love at first sight. I knew it was where I was meant to be. I devoted many years to the radio station, including working on staff for two years, and doing a weekly radio show for about 6 or 7 years straight. I stopped doing my show a few years ago after my life went through some crazy changes. This included a house fire, several moves, and a shift back into being a full time student. Something had to give.

I’m happy to be back on the air, even if it’s only for the summer.

My show will have a mix of new and old music. My tastes cover many sub genres, including synth pop and punk, garage rock, “indie” rock, power pop, surf music and all kinds of blips here and there. There will be new favorites and forever classics that I love. I’ll post my playlists every week and a link to the archive so you can listen on your MP3 player while you make dinner or clean your house or ponder the mysteries of life.

I hope you’ll enjoy it. It’s going to be a fun summer.

Leave a Reply

