Finding Time to Craft

9 Oct


I love so many creative endeavors. I’ve always been someone who loves to draw, write, paint, cook and most recently crochet. Several women in my family have been crocheters, but after a few failed attempts as a kid, I learned to crochet a few years ago and it’s become one of my favorite weekend and fall hobbies. I’ve made several blankets over the last two years, pouring hours and hours and many yarn-buying trips into their creation while watching countless movies and TV Shows or listening to Podcasts or music.

I printed a handful of free patterns off Ravelry a few weekends ago and after a little trouble, figured out this fun pattern called “Something Pretty” for these pretty 3D flowers. I’m not very girly, but I like how these look more modern than granny-ish. (No offense to Grannies. You are loved.) Learning the popcorn stitch was the toughest for me, but once I watched a video and practiced, I got it down. My last couple weekends during breaks from homework, I’ve been making these squares and watching Star Trek Next Generation episodes (yup, big nerd). Thank you Netflix instant stream.

The arrival of Fall is much appreciated. I hope you’ve got a pile of projects too! Happy crafting.

2 Responses to “Finding Time to Craft”

  1. sandrascrochetcrafts October 9, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    Keep learning – I’ve crocheted since I was probably 8 or 9 years old. For years all I could do was the basic granny square. I began experimenting in college with new stitches. Now I spend time not only finding great yarns, but making things I’ve always wanted to do and never really felt I had time for. I have an online store, but it’s not about money for me. It’s my time to relax and drift into a world where I’m alone…and experimenting with something I enjoy. Hope you have as much fun as I do.

    • klingerdesigns October 12, 2011 at 9:59 am #

      Thanks for the comment! I do love crocheting. It is a nice relaxing hobby!

Leave a Reply

