Succulent Extravaganza!

7 May

A few years ago our landlord gave us a few succulents that they couldn’t take with them on a move. A few years later, our backyard is full of clippings from these original plants, as well as a growing collection purchased at various nurseries, farmers markets and this weekend – the local Succulent show and sale!

I never gave much thought to succulents or cacti. Once they were in my possession and didn’t shrivel and die from lack of attention, I was intrigued. When a branch from the jade plant fell off during a wet and cold winter, I stuck it in an old pot, and miraculously, it lived! It rooted, and is still happily growing away. Plants that can survive with little attention and can easily propagate are right up my alley. I’ve always wanted to be a good gardener, but I’m not. My vegetable and herb garden do OK, but the plants that do best are the mints and rosemary that don’t require constant care and don’t require me to invest in new seedlings every year. I have a small budget and those that cost the least are my friends.

I find succulents to be both cost-effective and rewarding. I’ve been able to get cuttings off my plants and start new ones. They don’t require much water and tolerate the hot California summers. This weekend I gathered up some friends and we browsed the awesome selection at the Sacramento Cactus and Succulent Society Show. The selection far outnumbered any local plant nursery I’ve been to. The sheer variety was mind boggling and awesome. I found several plants that I had eyed in my succulent books and was super excited to add them to my collection.

Alright, let’s look at some of the goodies!

This last one isn’t new. I got this tea cup from the as-is section at Ikea for a buck, filled the bottom with rocks for drainage, and put a few cuttings in it. I love it. Super simple and looks great.

Anyone else going succulent crazy?

3 Responses to “Succulent Extravaganza!”

  1. Audry May 14, 2012 at 2:08 am #

    Maybe this is the solution for my decidedly brown thumb. I currently have a rosemary, lavender, and lemon verbena plant I haven’t destroyed. But I have a feeling that is because someone else is remembering to water them.

    • klingerdesigns May 14, 2012 at 7:15 am #

      Those plants are pretty forgiving when it comes to water. I have a rosemary and lavender too. Succulents are the way to go. Most of them prefer less water and they’re pretty easy keepers!

  2. Michelle May 22, 2012 at 2:32 pm #

    Ack! These are so beautiful. Lovely little succulents!

Leave a Reply

