African Flower Blanket

22 Jul
flowers4

Ellie modeling the blanket, looking very contemplative.

Last month I finished this blanket for two of my newlywed friends who moved away to start their new lives on a farm in Oregon. My friend Emily is a lover of all things vintage, especially 1960s/70s era. I found this pattern for a modified African Flower afghan block featuring 8 pedals instead of the standard 6, creating a square instead of hexagon block. It has a nice vintage-feel and I like the colors – cool blues and purples – and I think the yellow centers really make the flowers pop. It was a great pattern to work with. The blanket took 3 months to finish and I’m incredibly happy with it! While sewing the squares together, I escaped the heat and watched tons of Star Trek: The Original Series. Engage!

flowers5

flowers7

flowers6

7 Responses to “African Flower Blanket”

  1. Melissa October 2, 2013 at 3:51 pm #

    I’m new to crochet and fell in love with your blanket. I had a question on the border of the blanket. What is the pattern of the yellow and purple edge? I’m doing the squares now in basically the same colors as you did but replaced the white with a Turquoise blue. So if you could get back to me that would be awesome! Happy hooking!

    • Melissa October 2, 2013 at 3:52 pm #

      Oh and I have the same colored cat as you do so I’ll have to take a pic and send it to you when I’m done with my cat laying on it lol.

      • Klinger Creative October 2, 2013 at 4:10 pm #

        Lol! Love that.

    • Klinger Creative October 2, 2013 at 4:09 pm #

      Hi Melissa! The border is simply 3 rounds: 1 HDC, 1 DC, 1 HDC.
      I hope you’re enjoying the project.

      • Melissa October 2, 2013 at 5:05 pm #

        Thanks much for responding fast! I am enjoying it immensely lol

      • Melissa October 4, 2013 at 1:21 pm #

        Oh! Had another quick question. How did you attach the squares together? Mattress stitch?

  2. Klinger Creative October 4, 2013 at 3:42 pm #

    I attached them by single crocheting each square together into strips, then single crocheted the strips together. If you’re on Ravelry, you can see all the photos and it kind of shows the process.

Leave a Reply

